Original names of the continents

Today, the names of all the continents have been accurately identified. But these are not the original names of the continents. What I want to share here is the history of the seven continents in the world.

The first thing I want to mention is Africa. There are many theories and myths about the name of Africa. During the Third Punic War, the Romans conquered Africa (now Tunisia, which is located on the northern tip of Africa) and became known as Africa.

In another history, the name “Africa” ​​refers to the native people of the region, Afri (male and female, Africanus), meaning “country of Afri”.

Another theory about Africa is that Afri came from the Phoenician religion, meaning dust. In Latin, Afri comes from the word ica, which refers to land in Africa. So Africa is the place where the dust / sand lies.

Roman records indicate that Africa was a very hot and hot desert region (north of Africa). The history of the Phoenicians mentioned is quite similar to the theory of Afri. In spite of differences in the name of Africa, Africa has become the name of the state since Africa was dominated by Europeans.


The Antarctica’s original name comes from the Greek antarktike, which means “against the north.” In fact, Antarctica is located in the southernmost part of the world. According to Scottish historian John George Bartholomew, who first introduced the name Antarctica, the name was given to French explorers.

In the 1500s, the French colonized South Brazil, now descending from the equator to the lower part of Antarctica and later renamed Antarctica in France. There is also a history of the Antarctica, which the British honored their Queen Elizabeth and called Queen Elizabeth Land. This part of the area is twice the size of Britain.


According to Herodotus’s history, the word “Asia” originated from the ancient Greek language Ἀσία from early 440 BC. However, at that time, what he had given was not the entire continent of Asia, the coast of the Aegean Sea and the Anatolia (present-day Turkey).

In Roman history, the Romans classified Asia into two provinces: Asia Minor and Asia Minor. As in Greek, which is considered to be from the Phoenician language, asu means east, and asu in Akkadian means to go out to see the sunrise. As a result, Asia is referred to as the sun and the sun.